When did I decide?

My religion decides where my feet goes

My skin colour decides my friends and foes

My soul is caged, it no longer has a choice; somewhere it never had. 

When did I decide where I was to be born? 

Love wrapped my soul, my body was formed. 

It grew in days, it grew in time,

It grew in communities that I made mine. 

My soul has been wrapped in love since, 

It’s my body that got a name and a tag of religion within. 

Before I could let my body embrace my soul, 

My future was decided; whether it was to rise or to fall. 

I ask again, when did I decide where I was to be born?

Author: teapotideas

Nonsignificant. Hardly human.

Leave a Reply

