Her first chocolate. 

I could have bought her, her first chocolate 

I so wanted to buy 

But something in me stopped me;

instead I left it to her father 

who wanted to wrap her chocolate in a ‘sorry’ paper 

When I met him, he was upset 

His abuse towards his daughter 

Was killing him deep inside ..

While we spoke, calm made its way in 

By the time I was to leave ..

He wanted to buy her a chocolate and head back home 

I wanted to offer to buy that chocolate for her 

To a daughter who was perhaps unknowingly abused by her father .. 

I wanted her to know that he hasn’t been in a right frame of mind ..

Ever since he left home pretending to break the ties that bind. 

Author: teapotideas

Nonsignificant. Hardly human.

Leave a Reply

