like everyone else .. 

I was like everyone else

I had a home, parents and all the rest

I used to love my bike rides and my walk through the muddy streets 

I was taught to be and never breathe in a cocooned me

Then one fine day, they came in masks that I couldn’t uncover 

I had no options but to breathe into terror 

If I didn’t, I would be killed, I was told 

Life, then, after all these years, became an article to be either held close or sold 

Slowly I forgot what it was to be like everyone else 

I neither became me that I had once known nor did I sell.

Leave a Reply

