Asha Jaoar Majhe (labour of love) is beautiful

I watched Asha Jaoar Majhe (labour of love) at the London Indian film festival. I was skeptical when I went in to watch the movie cos I had heard there aren’t any dialogues in the movie and I clearly wasn’t in a mood to watch a silent film. But my apprehensions got washed away as soon as the film started. 

A story of a married couple, their love for each other, their concern for each other is so beautiful that you can’t help but smile as you watch the screen. The love flows through the mundane tasks of life and you can feel it, which’s magical. The changing faces of the city of kolkata added shades to the day and night where it grew from dark gray to pitch black to orange to bright white. The cyclical nature never stopped and neither did the routine life of these two individuals. They never paused to say “I love you” to each other and neither did they buy each other presents. All they did was their own little bit to make each other’s lives a little bit easy .. And isn’t that what ‘love’ is all about 🙂 

Another aspect of this film that stood out for me was the undefined aspects such as the beauty in the ‘wait’, beauty in the ‘routine’ and an undefined beauty in ‘holding on’ .. Whether you wait for the sunset or the sunrise or whether you hold onto your own belief or the person you love or whatever it is – every bit of it has an undefined beauty attached to it. It was abstract more like the beauty of Riemannian geometry! 

As I said before a lot has been said and written about this film already and I am not even qualified to critic it but cos I love movies, I like to write what I feel about them once I have seen them .. So in one word I would say this directorial debut of Aditya Vikram Sengupta is ‘beautiful’. It’s realistic, it’s serene and it’s simply beautiful. He’s such a talent! 

PS : I think this film is as beautiful as Reimanian geometry 🙂 and the pic has Aditya Vikram Sengupta, Jonaki Bhattacharya and Soumik Dutta. 

  

Leave a Reply

